Winter 2016/2017

The Art of Jazz exhibition
I don’t need to tell you it’s been another busy year and the next 12 months looks equally challenging. I always hope to condense my artistic activities but I am such a creative magpie that I cannot resist a new opportunity. Through my work with CollectConnect I spend much of my time working with other artists but the first few weeks of 2017 allows me time to concentrate on my own work. On the 13th January I launch The Art of Jazz, an exhibition of my album cover artwork at the Robert Phillips Gallery in Walton-on-Thames. It’s rare for me to have original drawings, sketches and painting for sale and even more unusual to show the development of these album covers. I have been working for 6 years on album cover art with nearly 50 albums released, with most from London’s burgeoning young Jazz scene but other from further shores like Bremen, Barcelona, Buffalo, Berlin, New York City and Denmark and France.

invite_outside_v_50The Art of Jazz
Private View – 13th January 5.30-7pm (Free entry with refreshments)
Robert Phillips Gallery
Riverhouse Arts Centre
Manor Road
Walton on Thames
Surrey
KT12 2PF

To help celebrate the opening of the exhibition there will be a concert afterwards from the Stefanos Tsourelis Trio in the gallery from 8pm onwards. Tickets available here (£12/£10)
It would wonderful to see you at the opening of the exhibition and concert. I’ll also be holding a ‘meet the artist’ day on Saturday 21st January 2017 from 12-2pm. The exhibition closes on the 22nd January 2017.

shapes_lines_beauty_2_25

Shapes and Lines of Beauty exhibition

Shapes, Lines, Beauty and British Shorts
Until the 17th January I’ll be exhibiting my Jazz sketches at the Shapes and Lines of Beauty exhibition in the The Arts Project gallery which rests within St Pancras Hospital.

Kevin Acott and I will be showing our film Nonstops at the 10th Lichtspielklub Short Film Festival exhibition in the Sputnik Kino, Berlin from 12-16th January. The film is an animated version of the Relationship Map we created for Mental Health Awareness Week. The film was first screened at the Façade Video Festival in Plovdiv, Bulgaria.

Retrospectives, postcards and awards
We’twickenham_film_festival_2016_c_25ve just closed a large retrospective of our work at CollectConnect which brought together the work of 1200 artists, over 4,000 artworks in 25 exhibition with the gallery at Kensington and Chelsea College. It was a massive undertaking but worth it to see what we’ve achieved over the past 6 years. Thank you to Bryan Benge, Dean Reddick and Stuart Simler who I love working with on these inclusive exhibitions.

We also organised a very successful exhibition at Kingston University called Postcards to My Future Self. 150 people wrote postcards to themselves and I’ll be mailing those back to them in November 2021.

I collected an award at the Twickenham Alive Film Festival in October at Twickenham Stadium (right).

Album covers and Chapbooks
I’ve just finished the album cover for Kelvin Christiane and Sam Walker’s Tumultuous Tenors album and am working on the debut album for Stefanos Tsourelis.

After a hiatus at Sampson Low Ltd were back in the swing of chapbook publication with several editors producing chapbook series, these include Maartens Lourens with Poetry WTF?! (#1 Combed Thunderclap, #2 Howie Good and Dale Wisely), Francesca Albini with her Dreamtime Chapbooks (#1 Garden) and Lucy Furlong with her seethingography series (The Seethingographer #1).

 

Leave a comment